Comfort Food

16 Nov

When I was little there were certain comfort foods that mom would make when we were sick:  rice with raisins, cinnamon, and milk; soft-boiled eggs over toast bites; her famous chicken soup.  These foods still comfort me today!

As a Christian when I need comfort–from grief, from fear, from worry, from stress–I run to the Psalms.  I’m there now as we struggle to hear from God for our next move–I told Mike a worry that I had about God’s direction the other night, “What if it is God’s will for us to move to St. Augustine and I get a job offer for Costa Rica or Curaçao?”  Mike just laughed (not unkindly) and said, “Don’t you think our God is big enough either to close doors or give us a bad feeling?”

Here is today’s comfort food from the Psalms:

You will show me the path of life;

In your presence is fullness of joy;

At your right hand are pleasures forevermore.  Psalm 16:11

Leave a Reply

