Life as a Metro System

9 May

Sometimes my life and interests seem so fragmented and even random.  I did the diagram below to try to make some sense out of my life and see where strands come together.

One thing leads to another, for example I’m doing a deep study on the book of Isaiah, which leads me to a course on Bible Arcing where you connect the propositions in the verses with one of 18 Logical Relationships to help with the understanding of Scripture.  I’M TERRIBLE AT IT! I mean it’s kind of frightening how bad I am at it.

This led me to apply what I know about Growth Mindset to my work.  I remind myself that I’m not good at this, YET!

Knowing what I know about scaffolding, or supporting, learners, I decided to do sentence diagramming as it too depends upon logical relationships, but is easier than Bible Arcing. I also felt like I had to learn more about learning, so I am taking two courses from Coursera: Learning How to Learn: Powerful Mental Tools to Help You Master Tough Subjects and Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential. (These courses are free and from well-known universities. If you haven’t taken advantage of free courses called MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses) offered by many of the best universities in the world, you should check it out.)

One powerful tool that has come out of this is that I am now learning the Pomodoro Method, which is a simple, but effective method of keeping you focused and on track in your learning.

All of this came out of the diagram I made–My Life as a Metro System–to help me to perhaps see and understand God’s purpose for my life and my desire to study Scripture well. I’m not saying that I understand His purpose, but I am loving digging deeper into the Scriptures.

One Response to “Life as a Metro System”

  1. Kate Sandy May 13, 2017 at 7:03 am #

    Love this Aunt Sue.

Leave a Reply

