Woe is Me!

26 Dec

cam00172I’ve been reading in the book of Isaiah and many of the chapters begin with Woe to _____________.

According to the Online Etymology Dictionary  woe (n.) late 12c., from the interjection, Old English wa!, a common exclamation of lament in many languages (compare Latin , Greek oa, German weh, Lettish wai, Old Irish fe, Welsh gwae, Armenian vay).  And I am lamenting my selfishness today. At the same time I am celebrating God’s faithfulness.

Every once in a while “something” happens to show me how selfish I am deep down inside and God did it again last Thursday night. I made Hot Fudge Sauce for our 5 sons for Christmas and had enough left over for a large jar for me.  Do you notice anything odd about the photograph?  In order to end up with a large jar for me, I had to fill the sons’ jars only 2/3s of the way.  The Holy Spirit convicted me about it over night, and I even tried to rationalize it with Him.  “I did that because the sauce was so hot and I didn’t want the jars to break,” I fudged.

In the morning, I heated up my jar in the microwave and divided it between the sons’ jars. It was exactly enough to fill them all nicely to the top with NOTHING left over.  I was glad I did it, but it was a struggle.

It just goes to show how deeply our selfishness is rooted.  And what a faithful gardener God is to root it out.

For the word of God is living and all-efficient, and much sharper than a double edged sword, and it pierces to the separation of soul and spirit and of joints, marrow and of bones, and judges the reasoning and conscience of the heart. Hebrews 4:12 Aramaic Bible in Plain English

Leave a Reply

