Passionate Purity

22 Jun

IMG_0259_1024Lately, I can’t get God’s passion and purity out of my mind. This photograph that I’ve had on my desktop for a while, keeps me chewing on these concepts.

This afternoon I read this in the Discovery Bible app that I’m test driving for 30 days:

God is all-loving and committed to “giving Himself away” in a covenant-relationship with all who truly receive (serve) Him.  The Lord offers unlimited, personal knowledge of Himself to all through the saving work of the eternal Son (Jesus Christ), as mediated by God the Holy Spirit (cf. Rev 4:8). (Discovery Bible)

He wants to give Himself away to us.  Selah.

This is the passion we find in 1 John 4:8: The one who does not love has not become acquainted with God [does not and never did know Him], for God is love. [He is the originator of love, and it is an enduring attribute of His nature.]

And God is pure. I don’t think I’m messing with the Scriptures when I say, God is purity. He has no sin. He has no grey. He is perfect.

This is the message [of God’s promised revelation] which we have heard from Him and now announce to you, that God is Light [He is holy, His message is truthful, He is perfect in righteousness], and in Him there is no darkness at all [no sin, no wickedness, no imperfection]. 1 John 1:5

And He loves us so, that he wants to purify us, His bride.

Because pure (Gk katharos) crystal is transparent, light shines through even though it is solid.  When God’s life touches people, they are as pure crystal so His glory passes “through” them as a “see-through solid” – a transparent “sea of glass/crystal.” (Discovery Bible)

Makes me want to get down on my knees.

Leave a Reply

