I obstacle. Do you obstacle?

24 May

CAM00070The other day in church I heard the word obstacle used as a verb in Spanish.  You know, “I obstacle, you obstacle, they obstacle, we obstacle.”  It really resonated with me because how often do we obstacle ourselves? Or others?

I work with someone who struggles with her interpersonal relationships and yet she obstacles herself with her thorny personality just like this plant. There are thorns popping out of every vein!

I obstacle myself, my peace, or any remote possibility of moving gracefully through my days when I throw EVERY possible thing to do on my to-do list.  Then my life looks totally unachievable and I feel overwhelmed; I find it impossible to move through life one day at a time.

And so I say to myself (and maybe to you): “So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34 (AMP)  I love what Jamieson, Fausset, and Brown say about this–“Every day brings its own cares; and to anticipate is only to double them.”

But we can also look at it this way:  “A voice of one is calling out, “Clear the way for the Lord in the wilderness [remove the obstacles]; Make straight and smooth in the desert a highway for our God.” Isaiah 40:3

Clear the way, or panah in Hebrew, means to to turn away, put out of the way, make clear, clear away. “He hears a crier giving orders, by solemn proclamation, to prepare the way of the Lord in the wilderness; to remove all obstructions before Jehovah marching through the desert; through the wild, uninhabited, unpassable country. The idea is taken from the practice of the eastern monarchs, who, whenever they entered upon an expedition, or took a journey, especially through desert and unpractised countries, sent harbingers before them to prepare all things for their passage, and pioneers to open the passes, to level the ways, and to remove all impediments. The officers appointed to superintend such preparations the Latins called stratores.” (Benson Commentary)

So, I guess the moral of the story is to take a look at how we obstacular ourselves instead of collaborating in the clearing the way for Jesus to work in our lives. Or perhaps to look to be stratores rather than obstaculadores.  Yes. I did just make up that word and it means one who creates obstacles. 

Any other thoughts?

 

Leave a Reply

