Jesus’ Will or Susan’s Will?

7 Mar
CAM00086

The “Passion” in “passion flower” refers to the passion of Jesus in Christian theology.

When I was a fairly new Christian, someone compared my walk with Christ with a two-year-old walking hand-in-hand with her father and continually trying to pull away to do her own thing.  Not very flattering, but unfortunately it was–and sometimes still is–very true.

A few weeks ago I was reading in my Oswald Chambers devotional and he spoke of us wanting to be “poured out like drink offerings.”  I began to pray the Scripture, as I often do, but something or someone stopped me and had me consider. Did I want to be poured out like a drink offering?  To me the question cut deeply, as it meant making a commitment to always saying yes to His will, and I realized I want to retain the right to say no on a case-by-case basis.  Hmmm.

This morning I was reading in my Andrew Murray devotional and it spoke of the battle that is waged within us between wanting to follow our will AND follow His.  A battle of our pride against God.  Am I willing to give up my own priorities to put the lovely, gracious, and always pure priorities of God before mine?

Walking to school this morning, I passed the passion flowers that grow on our lane.  It dawned on me in a new way that the crucifixion was a passionate, extravagant act of love and grace of Jesus for me.  (And you.) Why would I ever want to put my will before His?

But even if I am poured out as a drink offering on the sacrifice and service of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with all of you. Phil. 2:17

Leave a Reply

