Presumptions…Good Ones

16 Sep

IMG_8030Last week I was reading a book about Cognitive Coaching, of all things, and came across a direction to presume. When I hear the word presumption used, it’s usually in a negative sense.  Since word dissonance nibbles away at my brain, I decided to investigate.  Checking in my beloved Noah Webster 1828 dictionary, I found some of the major definitions of the word:

  • To venture without positive permission; as, we may presume too far;
  • To form confident and arrogant opinions; or
  • To take or supposed to be true or entitled to belief without examination or positive proof, or on the strength of probability.  We presume that a man is honest, who has not been known to cheat or deceive; but in this we are sometimes mistaken.

Back to cognitive coaching.  I read that when we are coaching, whether coaching a student or fellow teacher we are to make three positive presumptions:

  • Nobility of purpose
  • Positive intentionality
  • Prior and ongoing thought

Isn’t that rich?  Rather than walking into a coaching situation presuming the worst, presume the best.  Of course, I immediately thought of the Biblical principal about thinking the best of someone.  But sometimes I need a new way to look at an old truth to make it live in my life.  Think about those positive presumptions as you read this verse from 1 Thessalonians.

Gently encourage the stragglers, and reach out for the exhausted, pulling them to their feet. Be patient with each person, attentive to individual needs. And be careful that when you get on each other’s nerves you don’t snap at each other. Look for the best in each other, and always do your best to bring it out. I Thessalonians 5:13b – 15

Leave a Reply

