Taking a (Parenthesis)

21 Apr
Lucy and I

Lucy and I

Sometimes life hands us a parenthesis–a pause in the middle of the flow of our day-to-day life.  I had one this week.  I was moving some student desks and chairs around the room when my back seized up and I suddenly was in excruciating pain.  I looked like a parody of a little old lady hobbling around with my cane, bent over, with my other hand on my lower back!  I finished out my teaching day, went home and called missionary partner, Lucy Hillenga to the rescue.  Lucy and Brent hopped on their motorcycle and came to the house.  If you don’t know Lucy, she is a traditional Chinese doctor, and an amazing woman.

I’ve been thinking all week about this verse from Galatians 6:2 — Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.

Lucy came to my house (which is an hour and a half away by bus each way) every day this week to give me Chinese massage and acupuncture.  She did it with a smile and generous heart.  She bore my burden this week and she taught me of Christ’s love.  I am so grateful.

P.S.  I’m feeling great!

2 Responses to “Taking a (Parenthesis)”

  1. Maureen Love April 22, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Dear Sue, I am So glad Lucy has been helping you with your back!
    ” He gives us people for our life”. ( not sure where that reference is, but it is so true )
    Lucy is one of those gifts! She brings a gift of health through her merciful compassion.
    love to You and Mike and Brent and Lucy from the Loves 🙂

  2. Mary Laflamme April 23, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    Lucy carries with her not only her amazing healing gifts that God has richly bestowed upon her, but the healing balm of Gilead in her spirit which brings comfort and joy to an aching heart. HUG her for me! So thankful you have her to help you. HURRAY!

Leave a Reply

