Words to Think On

6 Mar

large__2871096076This poem was written by a Greater Grace pastor, Bill Cannon, a missionary to Haiti who died recently.

Counsel me, sweet Word of God.

My heart is cold and numb.

I want to hear Your mighty voice

In mercy bid me “come.”

.

Gird me with strength, O Captain mine,

Send gloominess of heart

Back to the pit from whence it came.

Repel the fiery dart.

.

Pick up the pieces of my life,

All scattered in the street.

Build solid works, O Carpenter,

From splinters in my feet.

.

I call on you from depths below.

Be pleased to lift me up.

My bread has turned to ashes.

Be pleased to let me sup.

.

Your purpose for my life, it seems,

Is long and meaningless.

Unless my way is hid from you,

Please come to me and bless.

.

O fill me with Your goodness,

With the bounty of Your store.

The treasures of Your house, I know,

Lie just beyond the door.

.

I mark the handle and the hinge,

The knocker gives a jolt.

I think I taste the love within,

But why the lock and bolt?

.

I chart as on a map the face

With whose glory the whole house glistens,

Who alone has the power to open the door,

But who in silence listens.

.

Open to me, please open now,

My sore hands do implore.

Still I know He hears me.

Still undisturbed the door.

.

Though the warmth and light are shut inside

And I in the darkness and damp,

Within me burns unquenchable

The shining light of a lamp.

.

I cannot report as I write these lines

Any stirring of the lock,

Only there grows a certainty,

“He opens to those who knock.”

.

by Pastor Bill Cannon

Leave a Reply

