Intimacy…Any Thoughts?

15 Feb

IMG_7230I have been so motivated to develop a more intimate relationship with the Trinity lately, but my brain is not cooperating–not one bit.  It’s been behaving like a pot of popping popcorn without the lid.  Am I the only one?  I can’t hang in with prayer for even a few minutes without undisciplined thoughts zooming around.  The only success I’ve had is  reading the Bible out loud to Jesus, the living Word, and telling Him my thoughts and confusions as I read it.  Moving so slowly through the Word, I hope to focus more on who He is.  Does anyone have other thoughts for a popcorn-brained disciple?

Now therefore, I pray You, if I have found favor in Your sight, show me now Your way, that I may know You [progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with You, perceiving and recognizing and understanding more strongly and clearly] and that I may find favor in Your sight. And [Lord, do] consider that this nation is Your people.  Exodus 33:13 Ampl.

3 Responses to “Intimacy…Any Thoughts?”

  1. Mary Laflamme February 16, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    You are not alone! I used the EXACT SAME word picture 2 days ago when talking to a friend about the thoughts “zooming” through my mind. Amazing thoughts! And then anxious thoughts! Surprise!!! Words come to mind of a song I used to sing that help me to become still. “Oh Risen Lord, walk through the garden of my heart. You draw me near with the love that you impart.” AAAAHHHH! RELAXATION! Stillness and adoration take over. He simply wants us to look upon Him with a sustained gaze. He will rest in His love….He will joy over thee with singing!! Thank you, Zephaniah! I can’t wait to meet you.

  2. Lydia Elmore February 26, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    I always have racing thoughts, or in your words, “pop-corn thoughts”. I like the idea of reading the word and asking Jesus questions. Thank you for that, I will practice that for my next prayer time.
    Most of the time when I am praying and I experience racing thoughts, I usually have to sit for longer. I experience waiting on the Lord. “Strength will rise as you wait upon the Lord.” In this case God’s strength over my untrained mind. It seems to be necessary for my mind to get the thoughts out, allow God to deal with them, then the peace comes. Then there are those times when I am just angry and discontented. The verse that brings peace is Philippians 4:6 and 7. “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, WITH THANKSGIVING, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” The thanksgiving is crucial catalyst for peace “in every situation.”

    • susanjean March 18, 2013 at 8:41 am #

      I’ve recently been reading an amazing book by Jeanne Guyon, written in the 18th Century, that adds to what I wrote about prayer. It’s called Experiencing the Depths of Jesus Christ (Library of Spiritual Classics, Volume 2), and focusses on quieting yourself before the Lord. You might enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

