A New Year’s Thought

31 Dec

IMG_6868I’ve spent a lot of needed time in 2012 realizing how much I NEED God–I have such a ridiculous tendency to depend on myself.  My son, Doug, has been realizing the same.  Here’s a stanza from a poem he recently wrote:

I start by asking for help of heavenly realms

so my voice can carry my story, my psalm

about a slave knelt down at the foot of a throne

then stretched out and laid out prone

down on the raw, bare balls of my palms

thoughts born of a storm far from calm.

Drawn off experience and painted in red

these words are not written–but bled.

~ Doug Handwork

My New Year’s resolution??  To know Him, embrace Him intimately, and trust Him more.

Leave a Reply

