God: The Strength of My Heart

10 Oct

The other day I wrote about Psalm 90:11 which discusses the fear of the Lord.  Let’s take a look at the verse 12 today.

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. Psalm 90:12 KJ

The meanings of the first phrase in Hebrew are self-evident, but the second phrase has some interesting shades of meaning:

The word apply, or bow’, means to lead in, to carry in, bring in, gather, and cause to come.  The word gather reminds me of something that is fragmented, like our heart which needs to be united to totally fear the Lord about which I wrote about the other day.  It sounds like we need a sheepdog to herd the fragments of our hearts together to be able to apply them to wisdom.

The word heart includes all of the innermost parts of us–our minds, our souls, our consciences, our emotions, and our wills.  It is incredibly easy for these parts to fragment, isn’t it?  This verse says that we can apply our hearts to wisdom when we learn to number our days due to our fear of the Lord.  It seems that the fear of the Lord is key to so much.

I can only relate this to the way I felt about my dad.  I respected him totally.  I had him on a pedestal.  I didn’t want to do anything to make him think less of me.  And so I worked and worked hard to gain his approval.  He loved me either way–but I still worked due to fear that I would lose His approval.  I tend to approach God the same way–with work.

Then I read the following verse and I gave a sigh of relief:

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the Rock and firm Strength of my heart and my Portion forever.  Psalm 73:26

God is the fragment gatherer.

Leave a Reply

