Fearfully Trustworthy

26 Sep

Teach me Your way, O Lord;
I will walk in Your truth;
Unite my heart to fear Your name. Psalm 86:11 NAS

I’ve been stuck on this verse for several days–stuck on the whole idea of fear of the lord and my/our need for it.  Teach me your way has a very active feeling to it–to throw, to cast,  to shoot, to point out, show, to direct, teach, and instruct.  You almost get the idea that the Lord takes us by the shoulders, turns us toward the correct path, and starts us down it.

David makes a promise in the second line that if the Lord will direct him, he will walk in that direction–the direction of truth.  I love the meaning of the word truth–firmness, faithfulness, truth, sureness, reliability.  The idea isn’t simply walking in the truths of the Lord, but in following the path because he is so faithful and true.  Can we promise the same?

It is the idea that my heart is fragmented and in need of being united that stops me dead in my tracks because of course it is true.  It’s David’s heart-cry to have a unified heart.  To fear, or yare, God is to fear, be afraid, to stand in awe of, be awed, to reverence, honour, and respect Him.  If my heart were unified, I would deal with the flesh quickly and decisively.  I would never fear the opinion of others.  I would put Him first in all my doings.

Teach me Your way, O Lord, that I may walk and live in Your truth; direct and unite my heart [solely, reverently] to fear and honor Your name. Psalm 86:11 AMP

Leave a Reply

