Come Feel This!

8 Jul

The other morning, my grandson, Riley, opened the door and then shouted with a sweet smile from the doorway, “Come feel this, Grandma Sue!”  I went to the door and shared his joy in the perfect morning.  It was a transcendent moment and I wasn’t sure why.  Later that day, when I was reading Eugene Peterson’s Leap Over a Wall, I read the following and it helped to explain it:

There’s a long tradition in the Christian life, most developed in Eastern Orthodoxy, of honoring beauty as a witness to God and a call to prayer.  Beauty is never only what our senses report to us but always also a sign of what’s just beyond our senses–an innerness and depth.  There’s more to beauty than we can account for empirically.  In that more and beyond we discern God.

One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.  Psalm 27:4

One Response to “Come Feel This!”

  1. Canaan July 9, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Thanks! Love it!

Leave a Reply

