Is it Safe?

26 Jun

I’ve been thinking about this all week:  “Is it safe?”  My nine-year-old grandson said it to me when I offered the brownie batter bowl for him to lick.  He’s not a fearful child; as a matter of fact he surfs competitively.

Is it safe?!  Brownie batter?!

I’m not criticizing my daughter-in-law AT ALL, but I have to admit I didn’t get it.  She said, “In grandma’s day kids licked the bowls and, really, nothing ever happened.”  But he’d heard about these dangers and backed away a tad suspiciously.  I surreptitiously licked the beaters.

I decided to do a little research.  We have about a 0.0001 chance of dying in a car crash in any given year–we have a 0.0000000001 chance of dying from an uncooked egg in a given year.  (Although you take that down to zero if you never eat uncooked or undercooked eggs.)  🙂  I’m not saying my grandkids should eat uncooked eggs–the whole episode just made me think about how desperately we crave safety.  And safety is to be found…in Christ.

In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, LORD, make me dwell in safety.  Psalm 4:8

Leave a Reply

