Take THAT, Ya Little Foxes

17 Jun

[My heart was touched and I fervently sang to him my desire] Take for us the foxes, the little foxes that spoil the vineyards [of our love], for our vineyards are in blossom. Song of Solomon 2:15

When Mike and I married, one of the things we promised to do was deal with the little foxes quickly before they could grow into big foxes.  Over the last 24 years we’ve had varying degrees of success dealing with the foxes immediately, but we eventually get them rounded up and out of the vineyard of our love.  The word “take” is written in the imperative.  We need to take hold of those little foxes and get rid of them.  I was reminded of this verse, when I read Jane Fonda’s autobiography this weekend–and a fascinating read it was.  This is the quote that caught my eye:

I was learning a valuable lesson:  When you confront problems and work them through, what might have been a rupture becomes stronger at the broken place.  It is analogous to bodybuilding:  When you lift weghts to build muscle, you cause microscopic tears to occur in the muscle tissue, and when the tears heal (it takes forty-eight hours) the torn places become stronger.  Still, much of me remained a handmaiden to my insecurities.  My long standing fear of not being good enough kept me feeling that if he [in this case Ted Turner] knew me fully, he couldn’t possibily love me.  What this meant was that I was willing to forfeit my authenticity to be in a relationship with him.

Leave a Reply

