The High Dive Blues

13 Jun

Today Mike and I are bouncing on the high dive ready to launch out into the air.

When I was in high school, when I’d worked my way through all the swimming class levels and gotten my lifeguard certificate, I took a class in fancy diving.  I should have stopped while I was ahead.  Two moments stand out from this period:

1)  We’d been practicing fancy diving moves on the trampoline wearing a harness for safety.  Unlike all the others who hit their moves or at least hit the trampoline, I completely missed the trampoline and had to be inelegantly hauled to my feet, and

2)  I was practicing my dives off the high dive at the country club where I worked.  (On Mondays, the pool belonged to the employees.)  I chickened out on the way down and somehow landed so that my knee was forced into my mouth when I hit the water badly  knocking out my two front teeth.

Back to  today.  Is it any wonder why I’m feeling a bit of trepidation as we leave Ecuador “for good” after 13 years?  No job.  Not sure where we will live, but confident it is time to leave and (mostly, maybe 99.9%) confident that God has a plan and provision for us.

For I know the thoughts and plans that I have for you, says the Lord, thoughts and plans for welfare and peace and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome. Jeremiah 29:11

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/nostri-imago/5224526190/”>cliff1066™</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photo pin</a> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

