Rant

14 Apr

From the book, Hell Broke Loose

This morning I started reading John Bunyan’s book about coming to Christ and learning to depend upon Him, Grace Abounding:  To the Chief of Sinners.  In it he speaks about ranters.  The ranters were a sect who sinned much and ranted and raved to show their freedom in Christ.  Their particularly twisted doctrine ignored Romans 6:

 What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. We who died to sin, how shall we any longer live therein?  Or are ye ignorant that all we who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? (v. 1-3)

This got my sometimes overly-active mind a workin’.  Please, don’t think I’m ignoring Romans 8:1.  I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that “there is therefore now no condemnation to them that are in Christ Jesus.”  What I started to wonder is, “How often do I act like one of those 17th century ranters?”

Now, their behavior was pretty extreme.  As a matter of fact, I had a difficult time finding an image I could use in this blog as most of the images included nudity and sexual activity.  Nevertheless, how often do I enter into sin knowingly, without even asking God for help?  A delicious bit of gossip was going around school last week.  Did I ask God to help?  No.  I listened and partook while I shoved the conviction of the Holy Spirit into my back pocket.  Am I condemned?  No.  We know that.  But am I presuming on God’s grace?  I believe I am.  I’m not spouting some sort of legalism here, I’m simply pointing out that we are often presented with opportunities to depend more and more on our Lord God.

What a loving God who teaches each of us in the way we can best learn.

Leave a Reply

