Praying for More . . . Peace

8 Mar

I spread forth my hands to You!

I spread forth my hands to You; my soul thirsts after You like a thirsty land [for water]. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!  Cause me to hear Your loving-kindness in the morning, for on You do I lean and in You do I trust. Cause me to know the way wherein I should walk, for I lift up my inner self to You.  Psalm 143:6,8

The other day I wrote about insomnia being a possible indicator of a lack of faith or of dealing with a problem in my human reasoning rather than giving it to the Lord.  When I looked in my favorite book 🙂 for advice, I saw this wonderful prayer of David’s.  Perhaps the soil of your heart is dry and cracked and thirsting for water as David’s was.

I reach my hands unto Him like a beggar begging for alms–and yet, I know that God is disposed to answer my prayer with living water.  However, I know my sorrow, my fear, can deafen me and so I call upon the Lord to “cause me to hear [His] lovingkindness.”  When I lift my soul to the Lord, He leans down in his multi-faceted grace and lifts my fears and sadnesses from me.

Leave a Reply

