Sweet Sleep

5 Mar

5Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.  6In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.  7Be not wise in your own eyes; reverently fear and worship the Lord and turn [entirely] away from evil. . . 23Then you will walk in your way securely and in confident trust, and you shall not dash your foot or stumble.  24When you lie down, you shall not be afraid; yes, you shall lie down, and your sleep shall be sweet. Proverbs 3:5-7, 23-24

I used to have a lot of problems with insomnia, and I did again the other night–laying awake all night just trying to get my body to relax.  So please, I’m not trying to be in any way condeming.  I’m wondering if my insomnia could be a result of not trusting in God sufficiently.  I’m wondering (as long as there are no physical reason) if insomnia can be an indicator that I am holding on to a situation in my human reasoning rather than giving the situation to Him?

If that’s true, I need to turn to Christ for help so that I can truly give situations to Him.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

