Riches??

28 Feb

I’m currently reading a book called Discipling Nations:  The Power of Truth to Transform Cultures by Darrow Miller.  So far so good.  I just finished reading a section on the root of poverty which Miller says is poverty of mind.  “Those with poverty of mind see themselves through glasses of poverty.  They say, or their actions say for them, “I am poor.  I will always be poor, and there is nothing I can do about it.”  Or, as many say today, “I am poor because others made me poor.  They are going to have to solve my problem.  I cannot.”

Now this is in no way an indictment of the poor.  Miller is speaking in a cultural sense.  But I got to thinking, “Do we sometimes have poverty of mind about our riches in Christ?”  I’m not speaking of material riches, but spiritual riches.  Could it be that we don’t have all that we could have in Christ because of  poverty of the mind?  Selah

[That you may really come] to know [practically, through experience for yourselves] the love of Christ, which far surpasses mere knowledge [without experience]; that you may be filled [through all your being] unto all the fullness of God [may have the richest measure of the divine Presence, and become a body wholly filled and flooded with God Himself]! Ephesians 3:9

In Him all the treasures of [divine] wisdom ( comprehensive insight into the ways and purposes of God) and [all the riches of spiritual] knowledge and enlightenment are stored up and lie hidden. Col. 2:3

Leave a Reply

