Anxiety in the Workplace: Overfunctioning

7 Feb

Rest

Let’s take another look at systemic anxiety in the workplace, church, or family, and how we manage our anxiety according to systems theory:

As an oldest child, I tend to deal with stress through overfunctioning, yea, even by being controling at times.  I mentioned underfunctioning the other day, but find it to be quite unsatisfactory as a way to deal with stress.  Overfunctioning WORKS for me.  It takes two forms:  trying to get opinion heard even in areas that are not my province (a.k.a. Bossy Control Freak) and (the most common) throwing myself into my work to a ridiculous degree.  There is a part of me that believes that I have vertigo issues because I could not learn the lesson of knowing when to stop.  Not as a punishment, of course, but as a kindness.  Overfunctioners have difficulty resting in God and His provision.  They (we) tend to make things happen rather than waiting on God.

It is vain for you to rise up early, to take rest late, to eat the bread of [anxious] toil–for He gives [blessings] to His beloved in sleep. Psalm 127:2

I have set the Lord continually before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved. Therefore my heart is glad and my glory [my inner self] rejoices; my body too shall rest and confidently dwell in safety, Psalm 16:8 & 9

So it seems that the balance between the two responses we’ve looked at–underfunctioning and overfunctioning–is to work hard, but know when to stop.  And how do we know when to stop?  Ask God and LISTEN to what he says.

Photo credit:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/linhngan/2746415048/

2 Responses to “Anxiety in the Workplace: Overfunctioning”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anxiety in the Workplace: Blaming « Fearless - February 10, 2012

    […] Overfunctioning […]

  2. Anxiety in the Workplace: Distancing « Fearless - February 13, 2012

    […] Overfunctioning […]

Leave a Reply

