Advent Musing

17 Dec

Tropical Christmas

This verse just jumped up and socked me in the solar plexus.  I had to stop what I’m doing and share this right away.  I’m bowled over with wonder.

And the Word, entering a new mode of existence, became flesh, and lived in a tent [His physical body] among us.  And we gazed with attentive and careful regard and spiritual perception at His glory, a glory such as that of a uniquely-begotten Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.  John 1:14 The New Testament, an Exanded Translation by Kenneth Wuest

So this morning I was looking up grace and truth in some Bible dictionaries and commentaries.  Grace is undeserved and shows the helpless poverty of man and the limitless kindness of God.  Another definition for grace when applied to Jesus, is beauty, charm, and winsomeness.  Isn’t that breathtaking?  Winsomeness.

Jesus is the truth.  The Spirit guides us into truth, the truth liberates us from estrangement and frustration, it can be resented, and it can be disbelieved as too good to be true or someone can choose to believe a half truth.  My prayer today is, “Father, help me see Jesus clearly, receive your grace, and believe your truth.  Amen.”

One Response to “Advent Musing”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventing Along . . . « Fearless - December 21, 2011

    […] I can’t get over the impact that John 1:14 has had on me this holiday season.  Wuest’s expanded translation is my favorite, but I love many of the translations–all expand my heart. And the Word […]

Leave a Reply

