Best Christmas Gift EVER!

7 Dec

This is a portion of a “classical psalm” written by my son who has been in the prison of addiction and is now in rehab–not for the first time, but I have great hopes it will be the last time.  I’m sharing this with his permission:

I will no longer fret over a lifetime of decisions made,

For the price of these mistakes has already been paid.

They’ve been nailed on a cross and laid in a grave

so, that through His strength I have power to change.

So I will live!  Live each day as though it were my last,

Grasping the fact that this indeed may be my last chance,

And always reminded that I walk a fine line and live on borrowed time

And what’s at stake is a fate worse than death.

So I will find strength to make peace with old ways.

I will find wealth in the beauty of these new days.

With my feet in the sand, and my face to the Son,

From now ’til the end I will follow my heart and I will live.

I will live to fight another day!

“He himself bore our sins” in his body on the cross, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; “by his wounds you have been healed.” 1 Peter 2:24

2 Responses to “Best Christmas Gift EVER!”

  1. Olimpia December 10, 2011 at 5:22 am #

    Wow mom that is wonderful! It is amazing to see what Doug has written and to know that it comes right from his heart. Lets pray and hope together that this indeed was the LAST time! Amen!
    Love you mom, SO much.

  2. Robin December 24, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Praise God….so amazing! Believing the best with you as well! Prayers are going up for him! He is a wonderful writer, Love you so much… What a blessing for Christmas you have!

Leave a Reply

