Night Terrors

25 Nov

“She listened to Elinor’s breathing, and her father’s, and more than anything wished for a candle—and a book to keep the fear away.  It seemed to be everywhere, a malicious, disembodied creature that had just been waiting for the light to go out so it could steal close to her in the darkness and take her in its cold arms.” ~ Inkheart by CorneliaFunke

There are times when fear seems to ooze from the darkness.  Like Meggie, the character quoted above, I’ve always battled that fear with a light and a book.  When I was young I had terrible nightmares which woke me up.  I’d sneak to my windows in the dark, try to close the curtains so there were no cracks, sneak back (all this so the “ax murderer” didn’t hear me), switch on my reading lamp, and read for the rest of the night.  I often went to school with big circles under my eyes.

You see, I have a long history with fear.  I still battle fear with the same two tools:

IN THE beginning [before all time] was the Word ( Christ), and the Word was with God, and the Word was God Himself.  John 1:1 Ampl.

And the Light shines on in the darkness, for the darkness has never overpowered it [put it out or absorbed it or appropriated it, and is unreceptive to it].  John 1:5 Ampl.

There it was–the true Light [was then] coming into the world [the genuine, perfect, steadfast Light] that illumines every person. John 1:9 Ampl.

Leave a Reply

