Doubt Rusts

22 Nov

“Doubt is like rust which corrodes metal,” the hooded man says.  “It travels from your brain into your body, and eats you away.”

“My head hears you,” Ygerna relies, “but my heart does not.  I wish your words comforted me.”

“Nothing comes of doubt,” says the hooded man, “except inaction and more doubt.” ~ The Seeing Stone by Kevin Crossley-Holland

What truth here in a Young Adult book about Arthurian legends–doubt IS a substance that eats away and corrodes.  What things do we doubt about God?  I think the top three are His goodness, His love, and His power.  And those doubts sniggle their way into our lives without us noticing and begin to corrode our faith.  And because of that, today I confess:

Preserve my life, for I am godly and dedicated; O my God, save Your servant, for I trust in You [leaning and believing on You, committing all and confidently looking to You, without fear or doubt].  Psalm 86:2 AMP.

2 Responses to “Doubt Rusts”

  1. DrT November 22, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    is that true, do you think? Is it more accurate to say, “Without doubt, there is no reason for Faith?”

    • susanjean November 22, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      I appreciate the distinction you’re making, and certainly part of the human condition is doubt and fear. I think my point is that if we dwell in that doubt, it will affect us in the same way that rust affects metal. Generally childlike faith hops right over the doubt. I never doubted that my dad would keep me safe or that my mom would put dinner on the table. I yearn for my intimacy with God and the kind of dependence and trust that I had in my earthly father to spread to my heavenly Father.
      P.S. I took a quick look at your blog and it looks interesting. I’ll be checking it out more when I have a little time.

Leave a Reply

