Retreat? Advance?

2 Nov

Guaguas de Pan for Day of the Dead. Jesus is the Bread of Life.

I’m having a kind of mini-retreat this week.  Mike’s gone to Quito with our house guests, but I had to work Monday and Tuesday.  I have off for the rest of the week for Day of the Dead.

And I’ve been feeling a bit dead-ish lately in my connection with Jesus.  Not my salvation, obviously, but a relationship that is ALIVE like new love is ALIVE.  This morning I walked around the house talking to him and I feel so refreshed, so in love, so empowered for the day.  I sat down at the computer to start my work and glanced at the Bible open next to the computer, and this is what I saw–heavily underlined by me in the past:

Turn us back to You, O Lord, and we will be restored; Renew our days as of old.  Lamentations 5:21

The word “turn” and the word “restored” are the same word:  shuwb.  It means to be turned back, refreshed, and restored.  I kind of think of it like this:  Shoo me back to you, Lord, and I will be shooed.  Not just shooed, but refreshed, make anew, and repaired.

Leave a Reply

