Entering into Rest

12 Sep

People wonder, when they hear so many sermons about faith, and such earnest pleading to believe, and ask why it is they cannot believe.

There is just one answer:  It is self.  Self is working; is trying; is struggling, and self must fail.  But when you come to the end of self and can only cry, “Lord, help me! Lord help me!”–then the deliverance is nigh; believe that.  God will bring you in to that rest. ~ Andrew Murray

When I was young, I had a record player and one record:  “The Lion Sleeps Tonight.”  My parents must have gone crazy as I played that record over and over and over again, tunelessly singing along.  Some of you may be having the same reaction to all these posts on self.  But I have to say that I feel the same way now as I did then, that I have stumbled across something new and marvelous.

THEREFORE, WHILE the promise of entering His rest still holds and is offered [today], let us be afraid [to distrust it], lest any of you should think he has come too late and has come short of [reaching] it. Hebrews 4:1 (Amplified)

Leave a Reply

