A Dangerous Game: Hope

4 Sep

“To love is to risk not being loved in return. To hope is to risk pain. To try is to risk failure, but risk must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing."

I read a lot of fiction for children and young adults in my constant quest to match students to books.  I read Moon Over Manifest the other day, a book about the redemption of a town filled with con men, bootleggers, supposed fortune tellers, and a lot of immigrants.  I loved it.  Then this section caught my eye:

Then, from the shadows on the porch, she spoke to me, beckoning from her darkness to mine.

“It was a dangerous game we played.”

I opened the gate.  “What?  Faking a town quarantine?”

“No, what we did in addition to that.”

I sat on the top step, my back against the porch rail.  “What could be more dangerous than a fake quarantine and a town-sponsored bootlegging operation?”

“Hope . . .”

I realize that I think of hope just that way:  a very dangerous game.  But hope is a gift from God and it’s wrong to protect my heart from hoping just because I’m afraid of what we’ll happen if my hopes are dashed again.  I realize, though, that hoping in the Lord and His provision is what strengthens us.  Dare to hope.

Be brave. Be strong. Don’t give up.
Expect God to get here soon.  Psalm 31:24

Leave a Reply

