“Not I”

27 Aug

I have been crucified with Christ [in Him I have shared His crucifixion]; it is no longer I who live, but Christ (the Messiah) lives in me; and the life I now live in the body I live by faith in (by adherence to and reliance on and complete trust in) the Son of God, Who loved me and gave Himself up for me. Galatians 2:20 (Ampl.)

This is my favorite Bible verse and the first one I ever memorized.  I long to live in it and fail miserably.  I fear that I will NEVER live in it.  But I’m still s-l-o-w-l-y working my way through Andrew Murray’s, The Master’s Indwelling, and I read a passage that has shed new light on the situation and on the parable mentioned:

The reason why Christians pray and pray for the Christ life to come in to them, without result, is that the self life has not been denied.  You ask, “How can I get rid of this self life:”  You know the parable:  the strong man kept his house until one stronger than he came in and cast him out.  Then the place was garnished and swept, but empty, and he came back with seven other spirits worse than himself.  It is only Christ Himself coming in that can cast out self, and keep out self. . . . Jesus Christ is able, by His divine grace, to prevent the power of self from ever asserting itself or gaining the upper hand; Jesus Christ is willing to become the life of the soul; Jesus Christ is willing to teach us so to follow Him, and to have heart and life set upon Him alone, that He shall ever and always be the light of our souls.  Then we come to what the apostle Paul says: “Not I, but Christ liveth in me.”  The two truths go together.  First “Not I” then, “but Christ liveth in me.”

Leave a Reply

