Scared Carnal?

9 Aug

Now the mind of the flesh [which is sense and reason without the Holy Spirit] is death [death that comprises all the miseries arising from sin, both here and hereafter]. But the mind of the [Holy] Spirit is life and [soul] peace [both now and forever].  [That is] because the mind of the flesh [with its carnal thoughts and purposes] is hostile to God, for it does not submit itself to God’s Law; indeed it cannot.  So then those who are living the life of the flesh [catering to the appetites and impulses of their carnal nature] cannot please or satisfy God, or be acceptable to Him.  Romans 8:6-8

Yesterday I found out that I’m going to lose my magnificent classroom assistant.  It’s a good move for the school and for her, but I was quite unhappy for myself.  Did I take it to the Lord in prayer?  No.  Lourdes and I spoke and I told her that I’m happy for her as it is a step toward her professional goal of being in early education.  I asked her how she felt and she said, “I’m a Catholic and I have strong faith.  I believe things that happen like this are from the hand of God and for the good of all of us.”  Then she and I prayed together.  I yearn to have my FIRST response to be spiritual.

This morning I began reading a book by Andrew Murray and I was hit upside the head by a 2″ by 4″ as I read about carnal Christians!  Who reacted spiritually?  Who reacted carnally?  I reacted in my flesh thinking about ME.

If any come and say:  “I have struggled, I have prayed, I have wept, and it has not helped me,” then you must do one other thing.  You must see that the living Christ is God’s provision for your holy, spiritual life.  You must believe that that Christ who accepted you once, at conversion, in His wonderful love is now waiting to say to you that you may become a spiritual man, entirely given up to God.  If you will believe that, your fear will vanish and you will say:  It can be done; if Christ will accept and take charge, it shall be done.” ~ Andrew Murray, The Master’s Indwelling.

Leave a Reply

