Teux Deux

1 Aug

Teux Deux is my favorite online organizer.  I’m giving it a plug because it works so well for me, but really I want to talk about Teux Deux List Tyrrany.  My to-do list can be a terrible tyrant in my life.  Now, I’m not saying that it’s bad to have a to-do list, but I am saying that we can miss real human needs around us when we’re TOO focused on our to do list.

Pastor Bill Cannon taught a sweet devotional about the prodigal son that really made me think.  One of his points was that the men who walked past the injured man without stopping may have been focused on their to-do lists and not on the human need in their path.  I know that I get tunnel vision when I’m focused on completing that task and crossing off (yes, that’s the best part) one more thing from my list.  I need to stick my nose out every once in a while and see what is happening in the world around me.  And that could be as simple as bringing my husband a cup of coffee or a glass of water.

And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones who is my disciple, truly I tell you, that person will certainly not lose their reward.”

Leave a Reply

