Celebrate Teachers’ New Years With Me!

26 Jul

I hope you know that a teacher’s year does not begin on Jan. 1st. No, it begins on the first day of pre-planning for back to school.  My New Year starts today.  This morning I began a Bible study that my sister, Patti, gave to me–Seeking Him:  Experiencing the Joy of Personal Revival by Nancy Leigh DeMoss and Tim Grissom.    The introduction spoke of revival:  both personal and corporate.  In the introduction, the authors spoke of a famous sermon that was instrumental in the famous Welsh revival in the early 1900s.  His sermon had four points:

  1. Confess all known sin.
  2. Put away all doubtful things and forgive everyone.
  3. Obey the promptings of the Holy Spirit.
  4. Publicly acknowledge Christ as your Savior.
My New Year’s resolution is to remind myself of these four points every morning and ask God to help me live them.  I crave revival.
For this is what the high and exalted One says— he who lives forever, whose name is holy: “I live in a high and holy place, but also with the one who is contrite and lowly in spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly and to revive the heart of the contrite.  Isaiah 57:15 NIV
Leave a Reply

