Gem #2

25 Jun

Desiring confrontation without offense.

My brother often gives me a hard time about the way I change the subject whenever the conversation becomes even a bit confrontational.  The funny thing is, I change the subject even when I’m not involved in the confrontation and I do it without thinking–after 58 years it’s a non-thinking response.  I hate confrontation.

This morning at church I heard a speaker say, “When we are easily offended, we avoid confrontation.”  OUCH!!  Despite my discomfort, the Bible is full of examples of confrontation.  I have to take a really good look in my heart and see how offendable I am.

Let’s see . . . I struggle with confrontation when loved ones are involved as I hate to see relationships disrupted.  My sister confronted me a few years ago and I battled for a year to receive what God had for me in the confrontation and to let the rest go.  I wasn’t offended, I was afraid.  Terrified that our relationship would be altered negatively. However, when unjustly accused, I am easily offended.  I repent right now.

2 Responses to “Gem #2”

  1. Lois Johnson June 25, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    I agree, Sue. I was once challenged to read aloud 1 Cor. 13:4-8 TEN times twice a day for 30 days. I did this and ended up reading it in several translations but since then I find myself thinking about many of those attributes like not easily offended that I believe is helping me alter my character. At least I am trusting the Holy Spirit to be doing in me!!
    Blessings to you, dear Sue,
    Lois Johnson

    • susanjean June 25, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

      What a great idea, Lois! I love it in the Message:

      3-7If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

      Love never gives up.
      Love cares more for others than for self.
      Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
      Love doesn’t strut,
      Doesn’t have a swelled head,
      Doesn’t force itself on others,
      Isn’t always “me first,”
      Doesn’t fly off the handle,
      Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
      Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
      Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
      Puts up with anything,
      Trusts God always,
      Always looks for the best,
      Never looks back,
      But keeps going to the end.

      8-10Love never dies. Inspired speech will be over some day; praying in tongues will end; understanding will reach its limit. We know only a portion of the truth, and what we say about God is always incomplete. But when the Complete arrives, our incompletes will be canceled.

Leave a Reply

