Gems

23 Jun

My new niece-in-law, Robin, and her husband, Bobby

This morning I was in a church service and the speaker spoke from Genesis 24 where Abraham sent his servant to get a wife for his son.  The speaker didn’t go in this direction, but I started to think, that’s exactly what God does–He sends us to find a bride for His Son.

You may be thinking, “Duh, Sue….and??”  But really, that just hit me over the head like a ton of bricks.  We’re sent to find the bride and bring her to Him.  We’re just servants under authority.

We are the Bride and we find the Bride and bring her to the Bridegroom. We need to maintain the anticipation of a Bride.   Ah. . .

The [Holy] Spirit and the bride (the church, the true Christians) say, Come! And let him who is listening say, Come! And let everyone come who is thirsty [who is painfully conscious of his need of those things by which the soul is refreshed, supported, and strengthened]; and whoever [earnestly] desires to do it, let him come, take, appropriate, and drink the water of Life without cost.  Rev. 22:17

One Response to “Gems”

  1. Maureen from Baltimore, Md June 24, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Dear Sue, WOW! I am sitting at my computer with my granddaughter Bella and am so personally blessed by this post. I was just recently hearing from God on the subject of what it means to “count the cost” The Holy Spirit was teaching me about this thought…it cost Him everything…it costs us nothing! Freely He gives to us. When I count the cost, so to speak, I consider Him. I had just written it down in my journal. Then I saw your post! “Let us come, appropiate, and drink of the water of life without cost! Amazing!
    thank you, love, Maureen

Leave a Reply

