Still Wrassling After All These Years

22 May

God, give me light!

How long, LORD? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?

How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and day after day have sorrow in my heart?
How long will my enemy triumph over me?

Look on me and answer, LORD my God.
Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death  Psalm 13:1-3

“I’m just gonna die if God doesn’t DO something.”  Am I the only person who’s had this dramatic thought?  It’s always comforting to read the Psalms because we see David crying out so transparently and know we are not alone.

Another translation of verse 2 says “How long must I take counsel in my soul?”  Our soul is not the place to go for counsel.  We need to look up, not in.  When we take counsel in our souls we are indeed wrestling with our thoughts.

But I love what David asks for in verse 3:  “Give light to my eyes.”  That word light means:  to illumine, light up, cause to shine.  It’s sometimes translated “enlighten me.”

It’s written in the imperative.  Giving God a command.  A command that God wants to complete.  Look up today, not in.

Leave a Reply

