Written by God

14 May

My rewritten life is to the beauty of this flower as my first life was to the wall behind it

God rewrote the text of my life
when I opened the book of my heart to his eyes.  Psalm 18:24  Msg.

When I read this verse in the Message it spoke to my heart.  God has rewritten my life.  The turning point was the moment I accepted Christ as my Savior.  Can you also look back upon that moment when your life was reversed?  When you opened your heart to Him and were totally changed?  What would my life have been without Him?  It would have been an “okay” life, but certainly not full of wonder due to the amazing grace I experience daily.  Certainly not full with wonder due to my relationship with the almighty Creator.  And certainly not full of gratitude to Him who meets me at my point of need and of failure.

So I looked this verse up in another version to study it and it read like this:

Therefore has the Lord recompensed me according to my righteousness (my uprightness and right standing with Him), according to the cleanness of my hands in His sight.  Psalm 18:24 Amp.

At first, I didn’t see the connection between the two translations at all, and then it dawned on me that the key words in the amplified version are in His sight.  Take a look at this verse:

For if, by the trespass of the one man, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive God’s abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ.  Romans 5:17

God first gives us holiness and then rewards us for it. He sees us as righteous because of Christ’s work on the cross on our behalf.  He’s rewritten our lives because of Christ’s righteousness and His work within us.  All we had to do was open our hearts to Him.   Is the rewritten text perfect?  Only in relationship to God.  Is the rewritten text different?  I can’t even begin to imagine in how many ways it is different, but I can look back and see the path my life was on and know that I know that I know that I know that the rewritten text is a thing of grace and mercy.

Leave a Reply

