A Gift Gifted Twice

8 May

Mom

My mom was a gift to me.  She lived life large.  A vocal Cubs fan.  A music teacher whose directing antics gave us the giggles.  When she led worship at church she bounced her way through songs on the piano as her foot flew back and forth on the pedals.  She cooked often and well:  for the guards at the gate, her family, her friends.  She traveled and explored.  She tried to teach me to cartwheel.  (She could; I couldn’t.)  She tried to teach me how to dance and how to carry a tune.  (Once again, she could; I couldn’t.)  She was a master at parody and good at Bridge too.  She tried to boss God around.  (Or so she would sheepishly admit from time to time.)  She was a gift and I miss her all the time, but especially at Mother’s Day which always falls within days of the anniversary of the day she died:  May 10th, 2001.

When she died I took back the Bible I had given to her in 1987.  It is a gift to see her responsiveness to the Word sprinkled through the pages as she jotted down short comments in the margin.  Her thoughts were either for the salvation of a loved one or a humble response to the Word of God in her life.  That is the second gift.  That I can see her humble response to God’s Word. . . despite trying to boss God around in her prayer life.   It is an example to me.  Thank you, Mom.

Blessed (happy, to be envied, and spiritually prosperous– with life-joy and satisfaction in God’s favor and salvation, regardless of their outward conditions) are the poor in spirit (the humble, who rate themselves insignificant), for theirs is the kingdom of heaven!  Matthew 5:3 Amp.

Leave a Reply

