What is Your Identity In?

2 May

We are like fresh and new blossoming bluets in Christ.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately.  I’d like to say that my identity is 100% in Christ.  While that’s true positionally (Due to His death on the cross and my acceptance of the free gift of salvation, I AM in Christ.), I’m on a journey toward that happening practically speaking in my life.  My identity is in being a good mom and wife.  I’m proud that people even outside of the family call me Mama Sue.  However, it’s easy to be crushed in that identity.  Another identity of mine is in being a goodhardworker.  What happens now that my vertigo interferes with my work ethic.  A crushing.

Many men have their identity in their athleticism or sexuality.  What happens, then when the knees give out or the prostrate gland starts causing problems? Crushing.

I’m thinking that this crushing is not a bad thing.  That it leads us to finding our identity in what matters:  in our relationship with Christ.  I am His.  He is mine.  I am fresh and new.  It is a process that begins with initial salvation and continues forever.  My prayer today is to learn from the crushing to find my identity in Christ.

Therefore if any person is [ingrafted] in Christ (the Messiah) he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old [previous moral and spiritual condition] has passed away. Behold, the fresh and new has come! 2 Corinthians 5:17 Amp.

Leave a Reply

