When Thoughts are Buzzing

30 Apr

Your comforts bring joy to my soul.

When I am filled with cares, Your comfort brings me joy.  Psalm 94:19 HCSB

A literal translation of this verse might be:  In the multitude of my disquieting thoughts, your consolations and comforts delight my inner (wo)man.  (Sue’s Amplified Version cobbled together from the definitions of the words in the verse.)

I’ve become aware lately of the many thoughts that race through my mind every moment.  The glimpse that God has given me is almost cacophonous.  It’s made me very aware of the need to deal with my thoughts on a moment-by-moment basis.  Many of my thoughts are planning thoughts, others are to-do-list thoughts, and still others are interpersonal –relation thoughts,  and then we have the what-if thoughts.  Many of these thoughts are disquieting and lead me to over-riding thoughts of worry and fear.

I’ve spent this week committing my thoughts to Jesus and relying on Him to help me in this mammoth task.  Have I achieved total success??  FAR FROM IT.  Have I made progress?  Oh, yeah.  Each morning I wrote on my hand the word precious.  When I glanced at it, I was reminded how precious His thoughts are to me and would speak that confession to Him.  Oh, how I desire to take my thoughts captive!  Do you have any thoughts on this subject?

Leave a Reply

