I AM the First and the Last

31 Mar

Look at HIS creativity!!

Thus says the Lord, the King of Israel and his Redeemer, the Lord of hosts: I am the First and I am the Last; besides Me there is no God. Who is like Me? Let him [stand and] proclaim it, declare it, and set [his proofs] in order before Me, since I made and established the people of antiquity. [Who has announced from of old] the things that are coming? Then let them declare yet future things. Fear not, nor be afraid [in the coming violent upheavals]; have I not told it to you from of old and declared it? And you are My witnesses! Is there a God besides Me? There is no [other] Rock; I know not any.   Isaiah 44: 6-8 Amp.

“Fear not” means to dread not.  According to the Cambridge dictionary dread means extreme fear or anxiety about something that is going to happen or might happen.  “Nor be afraid” means to not have the unpleasant emotion or thought that you have when you are frightened or worried by something dangerous, painful or bad that is happening or might happen.  Literally, it means to be astounded or distracted with fear.

That’s a mouthful, but you get the idea.  Fear can be for the present, the future, or the possible future.  I love the phrase “in the coming upheavals.”  Are you experiencing upheavals?  Great changes?  Difficulty?  Troubles?  When you watch the news and see the chaos in the Middle East and Africa, are you distracted by fear? Then these verses are for you.  I know they’re for me.

The bottom line is that God knows. He knew all along.   He’s here.  He IS NOT SURPRISED.  He is the rock.  The only rock.  Our stronghold to take refuge in, and our solid foundation to build on.

God, King of Israel,
your Redeemer, God-of-the-Angel-Armies, says:
“I’m first, I’m last, and everything in between.
I’m the only God there is.
Who compares with me?
Speak up. See if you measure up.
From the beginning, who else has always announced what’s coming?
So what is coming next? Anybody want to venture a try?
Don’t be afraid, and don’t worry:  Haven’t I always kept you informed, told you what was going on?
You’re my eyewitnesses:  Have you ever come across a God, a real God, other than me?  There’s no Rock like me that I know of.”  Is. 44:6-8 Msg.

Leave a Reply

