Small Moments: Selah

29 Mar

A small moment that I treasure with three of my granddaughters: Shaye, Galilee, and Kayden

My friend’s father died on Sunday and that has made me think even more about small moments.  It’s easy to see the overall narrative of someone’s life:

Mom:  Funny, loved God, encouraging, loving, supportive, protective, and champion of the underdog (From her beloved Chicago Cubs to the migrant workers).

Dad:  Loved life, loved God, loving, always believed the best, hard working, champion of the underdog.

But when our parents died, did we discuss these things?  No.  We knew them.  We savored the small moments.  We shared as many small moments with each other that we knew and lapped up small moments that people shared with us like ice cream cones.

  • My dad taking me out for pie after work and discussing life with me.
  • Mom developing a dance routine for me and my friends.
  • Dad teaching me how to swim, ice skate, and drive.
  • Mom teaching me how to tap dance.  And cartwheel.

It’s the small moments that add up to the narrative arc of life.  Don’t think about adding to your overall narrative, but what small moments can you “write” today?

Selah:  Stop and think about it.

Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear. Ephesians 4:29

2 Responses to “Small Moments: Selah”

  1. Kate March 29, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Love this post, excellent reminder.

  2. susanjean March 29, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    It is a good reminder for me too. I can’t stop thinking about the small moments of life and how important they are. Can’t.
    P.S. Tried to call you last night, but my computer wouldn’t connect.

Leave a Reply

