Gracefully or Gracelessly?

22 Mar

Grace is all around us

My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. 2 Cor. 12:9 HCSB

Before I became a believer in Christ, I was extremely resistant to people speaking to me about Jesus. I remember my sister’s friend, who was also a Bible study teacher, asking me what I wanted out of life.  I told her I wanted to live gracefully and she used that opening to speak to me of the Lord.

Gracefully means moving in a smooth, relaxed, attractive way, or having a smooth, attractive shape.  I wanted and still want my life to be relaxed and attractive.  Gracelessly means the lack of beauty.

I feared and still fear living gracelessly.  I want to receive all the grace God has for this moment.  It’s so easy to live in this fear when we live in the “what if’s” of life.  I just heard a friend say yesterday:  What if my husband stays in this condition?  How will I take care of the family?

If and when a horror turns up you will then be given Grace to help you.  I don’t think one is usually given it in advance.  “Give us our daily bread: (not an annuity for life) applies to spiritual gifts too; the little daily support for the daily trial.  Life has to be taken day by day and hour by hour.  –C.S. Lewis

2 Responses to “Gracefully or Gracelessly?”

  1. Robin March 22, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Grace is definitely given when needed and when the time comes that you have had your fill so to speak it is pulled back some! I am not sure that that is the correct way of saying that but I have experienced the grace to go through some very difficult times with the health of my spouse and was given so much more grace to handle it than I could have even imagined. But when the time came to move on from the “horror” of it all the grace and patience for it seemed to be saying, “okay, on to the next thing”! It was for my benefit and that of my husbands. To except what was given to us and to use it for His glory!

  2. susanjean March 23, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    God is amazing with the scope and timing of his grace. I know that you are my hero after watching you walk in grace through your situation. You did give God glory. I’m an eye witness.

    Do you think we can manage to avoid receiving the grace when it comes to us from God? That’s what I want. I want to be more receptive to His grace and His love. I want to open my arms to the riches that He has for me. He’s so generous.

Leave a Reply

