Thinking Eternally, Living Fearlessly Part 5

10 Mar

Die to yourself. Pick up your cross.

We always carry the death of Jesus in our body, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who live are always given over to death because of Jesus, so that Jesus’ life may also be revealed in our mortal flesh. So death works in us, but life in you. 2 Cor. 4:10-12 HCSB

What they did to Jesus, they do to us—trial and torture, mockery and murder; what Jesus did among them, he does in us—he lives! Our lives are at constant risk for Jesus’ sake, which makes Jesus’ life all the more evident in us. While we’re going through the worst, you’re getting in on the best! 2 Cor. 4:10-12 MSG

Death is the key to thinking eternally.  Death is God’s solution for our problems.

  1. We are God-bearers.  I can make a comparison to when I was pregnant.  My child was in my womb and with me wherever I went.  As we studied a few days ago, Jesus is in us.  He’s in these earthen vessels.
  2. Jesus died for us, to pay the price for our sin, to give us the possibility to have a right relationship with  Him.  He gave amazing grace to us.
  3. He was resurrected, and now His resurrected life can shine through us.  In a way, we can picture our earthen vessel getting more and more holes in it so the light can shine through.

We need to die to ourselves. As John the Baptist said, “He must increase, but I must decrease. [He must grow more prominent; I must grow less so.]” John 3:30  The less we see of the vessel, the more we see the treasure within.

We need to settle the matter of death before we can begin thinking eternally–and fearlessly.  Is death gain?  Do we believe that?  Settling the matter of death leads to life.  How do we die to ourselves?  We make continual decisions throughout each day to follow God’s will and not our own.  We are enabled to do that by gazing at Him instead of at ourselves.

I have been crucified with Christ [in Him I have shared His crucifixion]; it is no longer I who live, but Christ (the Messiah) lives in me; and the life I now live in the body I live by faith in (by adherence to and reliance on and complete trust in) the Son of God, Who loved me and gave Himself up for me. Gal 2:20 AMP

Thinking eternally brings peace.

One Response to “Thinking Eternally, Living Fearlessly Part 5”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thinking Eternally, Living Fearlessly Part 6 « Fearless - March 12, 2011

    […] we die to ourselves and stop being egocentric we will be able to have an attitude of faith.  We will be able to walk […]

Leave a Reply

