Día de Amor y Amistad

14 Feb

This is the other print. Both are by Warner Sallman and were painted in the '40s

This is one of the prints that hung in my bedroom.

Valentines Day is known as Day of Love and Friendship in Ecuador. Today I’d like to celebrate by writing a note to the One who loves me most of all and who is also my best friend.    Even though I didn’t receive Him as my Savior until I was almost 30, Jesus is one of my earliest memories.  My parents had two prints hung in my bedroom:  a portrait of Jesus and a painting of Him leading the sheep by the still waters.  I often lay in my bed and gazed at the two pictures.  I always pictured myself as the black sheep–and I think I was.

Dear Jesus,

Thank you for who you are:  All-powerful, all-knowing, everywhere-present, pure, holy, and yet personal.  Thank you.  I love you for that.

Thank you for your creation.  In it I see evidence of your love, beauty, and power on a moment by moment basis. . . from the smallest flower to the majesty of snow-capped mountains.  Thank you.  I love you for that.

Thank you for enduring–not just your torturous death on the cross, but taking the sins of all of us upon you.    Thank you for becoming sin so that we could become righteous. Thank you.  I love you for that.

Thank you for pursuing me when I literally ran from you during a presentation of the gospel by my aunt and uncle.  You pursued me for years, and never threw your hands up in the air and said, “She’s so hard-headed she deserves what she gets.”  And you used so many people to pursue me. . . my sister, her husband, her friends.  Thank you.  I love you for that.

Thank you for your grace.  You walk hand-in-hand with me like a parent with a self-willed two-year-old and you keep me on the path.  You even use me in your kingdom!  Thank you.  I love you for that.

Happy Day of Love and Friendship,

Sue

2 Responses to “Día de Amor y Amistad”

  1. Mary February 14, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Thank you Sue, this was so precious. I posted it on my facebook page for all my friends to read. love, Mary

  2. susanjean February 14, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Thank YOU, Mary. Love you too!
    Sue

Leave a Reply

