Worries and Choke-holds

3 Feb

Sarah Bernhardt

Still others, like seed sown among thorns, hear the word;  but the worries of this life, the deceitfulness of wealth and the desires for other things come in and choke the word, making it unfruitful.  Mark 4:18,19

I rely on the Word of God changing me when I hear it and when I study it.  In these verses I find the reason I have not grown as much as I would have liked despite spending a lot of time in the Word:  I am a worrier.

I feel like we need to start a chapter of WA.  “Hello, my name is Sue and I’m a worrier.”  My mind is adept and practiced at worry.  Do you think I’m being a drama queen?  (Okay, okay, I admit that my parents did used to call me Sarah Bernhardt.)  Let’s read what Edward Welch wrote about the chokehold of worries:

  • Worry is focused inward.
  • It prefers self-protection over trust.
  • It can hear many encouraging words–even God’s words–and stay unmoved.
  • It can be life-dominating.
  • It is connected to your money and desires in that it reveals the things that are valuable to you.
  • It can reveal that you love something more than Jesus.  It crowds Jesus out of your life.

Ouch!  The good news is that I don’t need to know some spiritual jiu-jitsu to get rid of the choke-hold.  I just need to focus on the Lord and switch from worrying to thinking about God.

Leave a Reply

