Know Fear on The Fear of God Part 2

26 Jan

Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man. Ecclesiastes 12:13

Mike often teaches this verse.  As Christians we are to fear God.  Part of fearing (honoring, respecting, and reverencing) is hating sin and obeying God.  He says Ecclesiastes 12:13 and the whole duty of man is summed up in Mylon LeFevre’s song, Love God, Hate Sin. And that’s about the truth of it.  Many of us love God but haven’t realized that hating sin (but not hating the sinner) is a part of what we’re called to.

I have to remind myself daily that I am a sinner and, if left unchecked, I will go south.  And if I do not regularly recognize who God is, if I do not give him that significant slot in my life, suddenly I think I am God.  I think I am God ruling over a universe called Me.

We must recognize who God is.  Then and only then will we begin to have a healthy fear of God and be able to discern the balance between love and fear. –Ed Young, Jr from Know Fear

Leave a Reply

