What Anxiety Does

14 Jan

Here’s a few highlights from Chuck Swindoll’s book, Getting Through the Tough Stuff, which I found interesting.

  1. Anxiety highlights the human viewpoint and strangles the divine, so we become fearful.
  2. Anxiety chokes our ability to distinguish the incidental from the essential and get distracted.
  3. Anxiety siphons our joy and makes us judgmental rather than accepting of others, so we become negative.

What I found particularly interesting about this is how quickly we can move from one state to the other.  Thinking about point #2, I reflected upon an incident that happened last month.  I’d had this wonderful day studying and preparing for the Ladies’ Bible study that night.  I’d reviewed and strengthened my notes, baked peanut butter cookies, and printed out a fill-in the blank outline of my notes for the women in the study.  I felt gooooooood!

As I gathered up my things I realized I’d misplaced my notes and the outlines.  In a flicker of an eyelash I rocketed from peace-filled to crazy-tense and anxiety-filled.  I yelled at Mike to help me find them.  Stormed around.  Hollered when the printer jammed when I decided to just print new copies.  And finally thought to pray.  (Oh mighty woman of God…not.)  Then I walked downstairs and found where I had closed them in the cookbook.  Sheepishly, I joined Mike in the taxi.  When will I learn to pray first (Remember the other day?  Worry not; pray instead) instead of react first and pray later??

Leave a Reply

