Listen for the Music!

31 Dec

You love righteousness and hate wickedness;
therefore God, your God, has set you above your companions
by anointing you with the oil of joy.
All your robes are fragrant with myrrh and aloes and cassia;
from palaces adorned with ivory
the music of the strings makes you glad.
Daughters of kings are among your honored women;
at your right hand is the royal bride in gold of Ophir.  Psalm 45:7-9

I was at my grandparent’s house one day long ago when a terrible thunderstorm passed through.  My grandma was cooking in the kitchen and my grandpa was smoking his pipe and working on a crossword puzzle in the living room.  I climbed in his lap with my book even though I was a pretty leggy 10-year-old at the time.

He sensed my fear and said, “Susie, just listen to the music in the storm.”  I didn’t get it and so he took out his record of Grofé’s Grand Canyon Suite. First he had me listen to the movement called On the Trail until I could hear the mules going down the trail.  Then he put on Sunrise and had me listen to the sun quietly peek up over the horizon and blast into its full glory.  Finally, he put on Cloudburst and had me listen to the wonder of the instruments recreating pouring rain and the drama of thunder and lightning.  I loved the part when the storm rumbled off into the distance.

From that moment on I loved the drama of storms because I listened for the music.

Is it possible to hear the music in other areas of life?  Do we need the contrast of minor keys and silent beats to feel the joy of the music at other times?  My mom was a music teacher and she always had a soundtrack going in her mind for her life.  Try thinking of your life as a symphony today.  What music would be playing right now?

Leave a Reply

