Cut to the Core

14 Nov

Spirit vs. Flesh

But I say, walk and live [habitually] in the [Holy] Spirit [responsive to and controlled and guided by the Spirit]; then you will certainly not gratify the cravings and desires of the flesh (of human nature without God).  Galatians 5:16 Amp.

I don’t know where I got this chart, but I wrote it in my Bible and it seems appropriate to meditate on today as I reflect on how many fears, anxieties, and worries result from living in the flesh. 

Life in the Flesh                                                                    Life in the Spirit

My will be done.                   ← Core Attitude→          Thy will be done.

I expect good things.             ←Core Hope→              I expect to become like Jesus.

I will do it.                                ←Core Strategy→          I trust God.

I must get it right.             ← Core Experience→       I celebrate God’s glory.

I live to be blessed.               ←Core Passion→           I live to know Christ.

My counsel is this: Live freely, animated and motivated by God’s Spirit. Then you won’t feed the compulsions of selfishness. Galatians 5:16 Message

Leave a Reply

